NORWICH, a city of the United States, one of the county seats of New London county, Connecticut, lies 16 miles from Long Island Sound at the junction of the Yantic and the Shetucket to form the Thames, and 13 miles north of New London by the New London Northern Railroad. The greater part of the city is built on rising ground between the valleys of the confluent streams, and with its white and handsome houses has a highly picturesque effect. Besides the court-house (1873), used for county, township, and city affairs, the more conspicuous edifices are the free academy (1856), the Park Church (Congregational), and Christ Church (Episcopalian). Among the numerous industrial establishments settled at Norwich, on account of the abundant water-power in the district, are cotton, wool, paper and rolling mills (all on a very large scale), as well as factories for firearms, printing-presses, water-wheels, locks, stoves, belts, bolts, wood-type, carriages, &c. Steamers ply daily between the city and New. York, and there is a thriving trade in coal, lumber, and general goods. The population of the town was 14,048 in 1860, 16,653 in 1870, and that of the city 15,112 (of the town 21,143) in 1880.
In 1659 the Indian chief Uncas, whose grave may still be seen in the old Indian burying-ground, sold the site of Norwich to Major John Mason and a body of thirty-four settlers. The incorporation of the city dates from 1784.